St. Lucia Distillers

Sugarcane first arrived in St Lucia in the 1700s, with the thriving rum trade close on its heels. By the 1950s, however, most Caribbean rum producing islands had slowed their pace, and St Lucia was no exception: only two producers remained, located in Dennery & Roseau. The Barnard Family soon brought the two together, under the shared banner of St Lucia Distillers Group. The last operating distillery now remains in Roseau.

St Lucia Distillers continues to churn out stellar rums in the island’s historic style, while pursuing extensive environmental initiatives to boot. A small amount of cane is still grown locally on the island and used in rum production, but the distillery primarily works with molasses sourced from Guyana’s Demerara River.

Chairman’s Reserve was first blended in 1999, overseen by then-Chairman Laurie Barnard. A blend of column and pot distilled rums, the line features some of St Lucia’s most beloved spirits.